Zotfile on Android (Moon reader Pro)

Hi guys, I'm new to ZOTERO, so please be gentle. I was introduced to it 3 days ago.

I have read the entire documentation and watched about 2 hours of YouTube tutorials. I am familiar with the basics, I think. I will soon have to start doing academic research and reading. I have Zotero 5.0 set up on my PC. All good to go there. I have download the Zotfile plugin as well.

The thing is that I like to read on my tablet a lot. Sure, I will do most research on the PC, but prepared reading like PDFs I would like to read on my tablet mostly. I use MoonReader Pro (Android). I do highlights, notes, bookmarks and everything in it. MoonReader syncs with Dropbox.

I saw in the documentation that Zotfile offers this function to. I set it in the Zotfile file preferences too. However, the Send / Receive from tablet function doesn't work. It gives error "Skipping...."

Zotfile confirms by "green tick" that it is linked properly to my Dropbox folder. What am I doing wrong? Or is there a better way to link highlights between tablet and the standalone on PC?

Thanks!
  • What is the full text of the "Skipping" message? And what exactly are your ZotFile preferences in "General" and "Tablet" (either describe them here or take two screenshots, put them on a free image hosting site (Dropbox, imgur) and link to them.)
  • For ZotFile to move items, they need to be attached to a Zotero item with metadata (that's the "top level item" part of the error message).

Right-click --> Create Parent item to create that.
  • edited October 11, 2017
    Oh thanks. That fixed the issue. But there are still 2 things.

1) I exported a file to Tablet. The file was exported to the share Dropbox folder. After I realised I forgot to match the name of the pdf with Parent. So I did that. It created another pdf file in the dropbox folder, instead of just renaming the existing file. This way I could have tons of duplicate pdfs in dropbox and not even know :\