don't want Zotero duplicating my files

Hello! I am new to Zotero.

I like that it retrieves metadata from .pdfs so I like having it linked to my files.

But, I have been researching for many years now and I have my own file organization system, and I do not want to use Zotero's.

Right now, Zotero has copied all my .pdfs to put it inside its own storage system, the one with the folders with the letters and numbers. I don't like this and I want it to just use my "Readings" folder.

I downloaded Zotfile. The General Settings for Zotfile has the Location of Files set to my "Readings" folder, instead of "attach stored copy of file(s)". I then deleted the Storage folder in my Zotero folder, to get rid of the copy. But Zotero just made a new Storage folder with new copies to replace it.

I am still confused about how to make this happen. Please help. Thank you!
  • (First, let me re-iterate what I said on Twitter: I think this is a mistake. By keeping your file organization on your harddisk, you're effectively duplicating the places where you organize things: you now have a Zotero library and a folder structure. For example, if you delete an item in Zotero, it does _not_ delete linked files, so you need to perform the same operation in two places. When you move a file on your harddisk, Zotero doesn't know about that, so the link breaks. There's also functionality that's not available with links, e.g. you won't be able to access files online on zotero.org nor will you be able to share them via groups.)

With that out of the way, if you still want to go this way, here's what you'd do:
    This is assuming a blank library.

1. You probably will want to disable auto-sync while you're figuring this out. (I think e.g. that's why your storage folder mysteriously returned)

2. Getting links into Zotero: Instead of dragging files to Zotero, you want to either use the "Link to File" option under the green plus sign or use ctrl+shift+drag (cmd+opt+drag on Mac).