Changing citation style in word processor

I am new to Zotero (have used Sente till now) and am just figuring out its capabilities as well as the differences between LibreOffice and Word.

One of the things I have been looking at in Zotero is the ability to move back and forth between MLA 8 and APA. That is inherently a complicated matter because the position of citations within a typical sentence is often different in the two styles. Nevertheless, the ability to switch referencing styles and have the citations and references update is very nice. But there are a few of glitches with the Word app related to the use of empty references (no pages and author suppressed).

1. In MS Word, when I go from MLA to APA back to MLA via Document Preferences in the Zotero tab, the citation doesn't disappear for references that were empty (no pages and author suppressed). Rather, the APA citation (a date in parentheses) remains after one converts back to MLA. If you show fields in Word (alt F9), you see that the APA citation sits outside the field. So one would have to delete all of them manually. Non-empty citations are handled fine: the APA citation (which is incorporated into the field, as it should be) disappears after conversion back to MLA.

2. Editing an empty reference in Word (tricky to do but possible, it seems, by selecting some surrounding text where one knows an empty reference must be) is similarly problematic: if one adds a page range, say, Word will create a citation that isn't properly part of the field. The citation remains page-less and author-less.

These problem do not occur in LibreOffice, so there would seem to be some implementation bugs in the Word Add-On.

Are these problems known and likely to be resolved, or is the lesson here that it pays to use LibreOffice if I am going to use Zotero as my reference manager from now on? Are there other problems with Word that I am going to discover down the road?