Routine back-up question

I am relatively new to Zotero and am regularly backing up my data after each update to the library. I am backing it up from Dropbox (my regular data directory) to an external hard drive that I have locally. I noticed in the documentation that, under the "restore" section, it says, "If you have a local Zotero library that you want to overwrite, close Zotero and delete the old Zotero data directory before syncing." This guidance applies only to restoring, correct? For routine back-ups, I need only copy the parent Zotero folder (including all subfolders) from my regular data directory to my external hard drive, where it will override the old version from the last back-up. Or, do I need to delete the old copy before backing up each time? Thanks in advance for setting me straight.
  • First, you absolutely should NOT store your data directory in Dropbox (or any other cloud sync folder). This will almost certainly lead to data corruption in time. What was your goal storing it there? Depending on what you need, we can help you get a safer setup.

Second, to backup your database manually, you need to copy out the contents of your data directory folder (instructions here: https://www.zotero.org/support/zotero_data#backing_up_your_zotero_library). The easiest way is to just use Time Machine or similar software to backup the entire folder. If doing it manually, just overwrite the old backup--you don't need delete the old copy first.

Third, you should generally not use the restore functions unless explicitly told to do so by someone on these forums. They aren't really intended for general use or troubleshooting. You are correct that that function is really only intended for wiping out problems in a local library by overwriting it with whatever is stored on the server.
  • Thank you for getting back to me so quickly. I will check out Time Machine. I also know that Dell has an auto-back-up capability. I've just never taken advantage of it.