[SOLVED] Zotero super slow. Firefox on Linux

edited July 10, 2017
Hi all, first I want to express my gratitude to developers for making this incredible software and letting it free and open. This is a GREAT contribution, thanks!!

I have been using EndNote under Windows for several years but I decided to go Open Source and switched to Linux and I recently installed Zotero as standalone and as Firefox add-on. I mostly use it as Firefox add-on.

I love it, and can't wait to keep importing references and to use it to write my first publications. But as it is right now it's not really usable because it is painfully slow. It takes forever to even show the references list of my collection. I thought it was caused by the large number of references I imported from EndNote (~9000) but when I create a smaller collection (6 references) Zotero is equally slow. It is also super slow for copying one reference (let alone a number of references) from one collection to another.

What could be the problem? Since I like customization (that's why I love my Linux Mint KDE) I have installed several add-on in Firefox, do you think some of them could be conflicting with Zotero and make everything super slow? (actually Firefox does not get slow, it is just Zotero).

I searched for help within Zotero and I created the ID 859112925

Any ideas?
Thanks!
  • On Endnote import, Zotero creates some tags that may slow things down when they're applied to too many items. They're all using the _RIS import tag. Check out the notes tagged with that and delete them if they're not useful & that may give you a significant bump.
  • Also try closing the tag selector in the bottom left. I think we've sped that up a bit for 5.0, but in 4.0 that can slow things down with many tags.
  • Thanks adamsmith and dstillman for replying.
    - adamsmith, do you mean I should erase the references tagged with "_RIS import" tag? Or to erase the "_RIS import" tag from all those references?