Import from Refworks - PMID information lost?

Hello all
I've been using Refworks for many years but recently decided [read: was forced] to transition to something supported by my institution [read: something free] and decided on Zotero. I think I like it, but I am struggling with a few things. I searched the forum but couldn't find a relevant thread.

One of my issues is that it seems like in the process of exporting from Refworks, or importing into Zotero (I am not sure which), the PMID field of my references got lost! The reason I care about this is that I intend to use the style "National Library of Medicine (grant proposals with PMCID/PMID)".

My questions:
1- Since I saved my Refworks references both as text and as .rwb (their own format I suppose), would there be a way to rescue the missing PMID information from that and either update my Zotero references? I am looking at the .txt backup and I don't see the PMID fields...I am hoping something can be done with the .rwb file!

2- Would it be possible in Zotero to do a "batch PMID search" for all of my ~8,000 references?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Alex
  • Update:
    I figured I that I could get the citations for each of my references, from the backup I made in Refworks. From there, a bit of text parsing (in Excel) allowed me to generate a query I could use in Pubmed Batch Citation Matcher. This allowed me to retrieve about 7300 different PMIDs.
    I thought I could then ask Zotero to import these as 7300 new references, usign the magic wand "Add item(s) by identifier".

It worked if I input a dozen PMIDs at a time. But I tried with ~100 and ~1000 different PMIDs, and it just seemed to stop after a short while, did not generate any error message or any report on the import job, etc.
    I will post this as a separate thread to see what might be the issue.

In the meantime, I am still looking for a solution to my original problem.

Alex