Importing Large Databases

Hi,

I am new to Zotero but like what I see. The problem for me so far is that I have a very large database in refworks (over 7000 citations) and have been unable so far to import them into Zotero. I exported from refworks in BibTex format as instructed, but Zotero hangs each time I try to import. I've also tried to break the database into smaller files but it still hangs. Jabref imports the very same large file in roughly 30 seconds so I don't think it's a problem with the file. Has anyone encountered a limit on the number of references that might be imported and does anyone have a workaround?

By the way, I'm working on a Mac running leopard.

Thanks in advance.

Joe
  • I did some searching before and after posting, and found that it might be an import issue with BibTex, so I reset the "translators and styles" but still no joy. Am now exporting via RIS from Refworks--I'll see where that leads.
  • Well...

I've had some success carving up the file in Smultron (a text editor) into 10,000 line files (100,000 lines total). It has imported the first three parts. I've thrown caution to the wind and put the last 70000 lines in one file to see if that works.

And I upgraded to 1.5. Not great troubleshooting as I've changed two variables (or maybe three, as Smultron's method of saving might differ from Safari or Firefox), but I see a light at the end of the tunnel.

Joe
  • No light. It wouldn't import subsequent files with 10,000 lines as it did with the first 3. I'm stuck...
  • Generally the problem is not the length of the file but a few problem records which trip up the import and cause it to fail. If I follow you correctly, you broke the file into 10 chunks, the first three worked but the fourth one failed. Can you try the remaining six files? There is a good chance that they will slide right in, at which point you can break up the last file to isolate the problem record.