Best Way To Use Collections? Suggestions?

I have used Zotero for more than a year now. But I still cannot think of the best way to use "Collections".

I use tags to organize articles by topic (keywords), status (read/unread), and project. The only thing I end up using collections for is a temporary folder to dump in articles I dont want to keep in the long term.

I would love to hear what people had to say about:

1. What is the best use of the collections?
2. What do YOU use collections for?

Thanks!
  • I use collections for projects. For example, if I start an article manuscript, then I'll typically create a collection to have quick access to the things I'd like to cite.
  • I'd second what bdarcus said... I generally use them for projects and papers... my dissertation has a collection, as do specific papers I'm working on... it's nice to see things all in one place like that and have easy access to the reporting and notes functions.
  • I have been using Zotero for several months now and have found collections very useful in grouping references I tend to cite together. I am an ecologist. Consequently, I have my standard references for taxonomy, nomenclature and conservation status. Another collection lists all the references I have published. Another lists papers on taxonomic groups and those references I am proposing to use for some up and coming papers. If I am researching a topic I also tend to make a collection populated using the advanced search facility. This allows me to avoid adding references I already have on the system. Then I add all new references found to this collection. I have also created an advanced search collection showing all my recent additions as described here. I find this very useful in locating recent additions to my database.
  • Like everyone else here I use collections to separate specific projects.