Zotero generating virus?

I am using the free version of Avast Antivirus.
I have been using Zotero for a few years. Yesterday I did a complete reinstall of Firefox and I also reinstalled the Firefox addon. I then synced/updated my account. Everything looks good.
But... about once an hour now, I get an Avast popup telling that a virus has been blocked. It says:
Object: C:\Users\Mark\AppData\Roaming\Zotero\Zotero\Profiles\9y10gip6.default\zotero\storage\CAIZWHNK\blog.html
Infection: JS:HidelLink-A [Trj]
Process: C:\Program Files (x86)...\firefox.exe

I do not have that blog.html file in my Zotero subdirectory, but I'm guessing that's because it's been blocked by Avast. It is the same message that appears every hour.
A search on the HideLink-A trojan indicates that it is a significant problem.

I'm posting this here, because the problem seems to be lodged in Zotero, and I don't know enough to determine if this is an issue with the program or one of my Zotero entries, nor do I understand why it keeps recurring.

I'm guessing that it is an entry issue. If I open in notepad the .zotero-ft-cache file in the infected subdirectory, I was able to determine which entry was causing the problem. I deleted the entry, but Avast now pops up the warning when I try to sync Zotero, and the sync fails.

Any advice appreciated!
  • So, I tried deleting the offending subdirectory. (The CAIZWHNK subdirectory under the storage subdirectory.)
    Now when I try to sync Zotero, I can cause the Avast warning to appear, and the sync stops with the message:
    My Library
    Component returned failure code: 0x80520012
    (NS_ERROR_FILE_NOT_FOUND) [nsIFile.permissions]

And the offending subdirectory gets recreated, but it is now empty.
  • That's just a web page you've saved in Zotero that Avast is flagging.

Empty your Zotero trash and then sync again. If you get prompted about a conflict, choose the local deleted version.
  • edited January 26, 2015