Zotero and Systematic Reviews

I am a library student, and I'm trying to explore how useful Zotero is for systematic reviews with the ultimate goal of creating a guide on how to use Zotero as a tool for systematic reviews. Would anyone who has done a systematic review using Zotero be willing to share with me what features of Zotero they found helpful and what was less helpful? Or if someone found that Zotero wasn't the best tool for systematic reviews, that would also be awesome information. I figure it's all well and good for me to try to understand Zotero as thoroughly as possible, but input from someone who has actually done a systematic review, rather than just my "pseudo systematic reviews" to mess with Zotero would be awesome.

Thanks in advance!
  • I haven't done any systematic reviews myself, but having advised people on the forums who have, I'd say biggest problems have been:
    1. Importing massive search results into Zotero takes longer than into Z39.50 capable tools like Endnote. There are ways to speed up things depending on the database (e.g. on pubmed you can export all search results as XML on the left and then import into Zotero) but overall it's going to be slower.
    2. While Zotero can detect duplicates, you can't tell it to automatically merge/delete them
    3. Zotero slows down more than some other tools with massive databases (>30k entries)

The main advantage would be that Zotero works better than pretty much any other tool with the native search interfaces of the various databases, so you can optimize your search strategy for each respective database (and it'll work better than other tools with databases without Z39.50 support).
    Other advantages - e.g. tagging, collections, saved searches - depend on how exactly you plan to use it.
  • Thank you for your pointing out the problems with Zotero for systematic reviews. I'm aware of all of the advantages you listed, it's just been difficult for me to identify some of the disadvantages.