Anyone using Zotero as a tool for online ethnography, virtual ethnography, or online research?

Along with using Zotero as a reference manager, I am also using Zotero as a tool for doing web archiving as a part of doing online ethnography. This was not necessarily what Zotero was designed for, yet it seemed to make sense. Rather than have to collect screenshots of pages or do lots of "Save as..." in my browser, Zotero can save the entire look and feel of pages at the moment I saw them. I can annotate them on the fly. Tag/code them. Write up quick thoughts as I see them. In other words, I am experimenting with Zotero as a field notebook, yet one that is nonlinear, searchable, sortable, etc.

I have been doing this now for about a year with mixed results. I would love to talk to anyone else who has tried this, is thinking about, or is interested in thinking more about it.

Dan
  • Sure,

I'm building some supervised text mining infrastructure on top of Zotero (mostly pretty naive stuff at the moment, but hopefully becoming more sophisticated as I get my head around what I want it to be able to do). The back story is that I'm doing some work for a group of organisational sociologists, and Zotero makes data collection, and data display so much more efficient that I can afford to spend half the time collecting the data, and the other half of the time working out ways of interrogating the fulltext data in an intelligent and effective manner. I'll hopefully be able to release the software in some form by the end of this year.

Feel free to contact me by email or IM from the email address in my profile.
  • Thanks! Sounds interesting. I don't think it's quite what I had in mind, but would love to hear more and will email.
  • Yup, sort of.