"file cannot be created"

Hi, I'm new to Zotero, so please forgive what might be a stupid question. I have two PCs, and I've got Zotero Standalone installed on both (I use Chrome, not Firefox.) On both computers, I have a "Work" folder on my desktop, and my Zotero data folder is located inside that, i.e., so the path for the Zotero data folder is exactly the same on both computers. When I've been working on one computer and need to switch over to the other one, I simply copy my "Work" folder to a USB stick, and move it over to the other computer (i.e. deleting the "Work" folder from the desktop and copying the more recent version over from the USB stick.)

Is this having some sort of negative effect on Zotero? I ask because the "sync" function is no longer working properly -- it keeps giving me "file cannot be created" errors, e.g. "The file 'C:\Users\David\Desktop\Work\Zotero Data\storage\4FSWT8F5\6.css' cannot be created."

So, I guess I have two questions. 1) Is there some way of fixing those errors and salvaging my library if it's been damaged? and 2) if the problem is being caused by my attempt to use Zotero on two computers, is there some better way to do that?

Thanks for your help...
  • (1) Does C:\Users\David\Desktop\Work\Zotero Data\storage\4FSWT8F5\6.css already exist? Can you delete it? If it doesn't exist, is that directory writable (e.g. can you create an new text file there)? Do you have any security software running? Try disabling it.

(2) I'm confused why you're using both manual library transfers _and_ syncing. If you're doing this to avoid syncing files, then you should disable file syncing. Otherwise, I'm not sure what you're trying to accomplish.
  • Thanks!

1) It does already exist, yes. I've just found that my data directory sometimes gets set to "read only", whereas sometimes it isn't -- I've no idea what's causing that. But presumably that's what's creating this problem?