Onfolio

I have onfolio collections that I would love to import to zotero (onfolio dropped its citation capabilities when microsoft bought it : (
  • Same problem We have a number of Onfolio users in our shop who are stuck: we either have to use IE-7 or an old version of Firefox. On the other hand, we have lots of data stored in Onfolio files.

Anyone who could write a script that could translate Onfolio files into Zotero files would get a large bouquet of flowers from me.

Mark
  • Same for me. I've been using the Pre-Microsoft version of Onfolio for a couple of years now and love it. But since Microsoft ruined Onfolio and the pre-MS version is no longer supported, I need to move over to another program of similar or greater power and usefulness. Zotero looks like it could be the one. If I could import my Onfolio collections (about 11GB worth) into Zotero it would be a big help.

Joel
  • From a ~5-second search, it looks like Onfolio has some XML-based export option for collection data. I'd recommend putting up a sample file somewhere and linking to it from here, as you might get more feedback on the feasibility of this if people who don't have access to Onfolio can see what the format looks like.
  • A few years ago I implemented Onfolio as a tool for editors for a metadata project where I work. I used the tool Dan refers to (cfs2xml.exe, see: http://www.onfolio.com/support/kb/okb128.cfm) and wrote XSL to produce RDF.

It probably requires some moderate XSL/T experience. No idea how you would transfer "captured" pages from Onfolio to Zotero. The cfs2xml utility has a "-sd" option that will at least dump the files. Onfolio notes are embedded in the xml.

Simple sample:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
    <cfsdata title="myOnfolioStuff">
    <folder collectionid="d598d4e9-ced6-4897-8602-eb34218cdb74" id="ac1f54fc-fbd6-47ac-90e9-80cb28bb45b8" name="Folder">