Creating My Own File Structure for Zotero

Hello, I'm a 3-days newbie to Zotero and a Mendeley convert ;)
Zotero has given me 3 days of headache trying to figure out how to work with it, but I surely hope that this will benefit me in the long run...

So my problem is, I don't like how Zotero stored PDF attachments and everything in unreadable subfolders. I want to be able to neatly see my PDF collections in one place, just like Mendeley, and be able to access them from anywhere.

I figured out how to create Symbolic Links and move the Zotero storage to my Dropbox, but I'm still in the dark of how to bypass the unreadable subfolders problem.

I've tried to search, found out about Zotfile and how it's supposed to be able to "move new & existing attachments to different locations", but I can't make it work, and I can't find the foolproof step-by-step instruction anywhere.

And Zotero itself said something about "setting the base directory" so that the attachment links can work on different computers; but I can't seem to find any explanation on how this work with Dropbox and symbolic links. I can't even find a clear explanation about what's the difference between Data Directory and Base Directory.

My working environment consists of a PC, two Macs, and an iPad; I'm hoping that I can read & annotate PDF in my iPad and have them available back on my computers. I installed ZotPad on iPad, but I don't know whether I should use Zotfile's "Send to Tablet" or is it enough to set up Goodreader to sync with my Dropbox folder containing the PDFs. Which takes me back to the first problem: how to neatly store my PDFs in one folder in Dropbox while make them available in Zotero's Library.

Please kindly provide your help... I really want to be able to use this software, but my head really hurts right now >,<
(Sorry for being kinda emotional ^^;)
  • I can offer you a few tips: