Moving item to another group library forces reset of source library

I am a member only of library A and I try to drag and drop an item to copy it into Library B that I am an admin of. It copies it across fine but when I sync it forces a total reset of Library A to the server version.

Any thoughts on the following questions.....

1. Is the system designed to work this way? If so what is the rationale for it since on the surface no changes are made to Library A and the copy goes ahead to Library B anyhow.

2. Is there a work around so I can copy from Library A (member) to Library B (Admin) without having to reset Library A to the server version each time?
  • It doesn't sound like that would be intended, no.
    Do you have permissions to add and edit items in Library A?
    What exactly do you mean by "reset to server version" - what exactly happens?
  • No I don't have permissions to add and edit items in Library A.

Post the copy of the item from Library A to B what happens is a message comes up saying....

'You no longer have write access to the Zotero group [Library A].......'. I have never have had write access to Library A though.

'If you continue [to sync] your copy of the group will be reset to its state on the server and local modifications to items and files will be lost.....'

There is then the option on the dialogue box to 'Cancel' the sync or 'Reset group and sync'.
  • if you can't edit the library anyway, I don't see the harm in resetting it to the server state?
    Either this is a small glitch or you briefly had edit permissions and changed something small.
    Or have you reset group before and this keeps re-occurring?
  • Library A is a large library that I need to regularly copy items from into my own library. One reset isn't a problem at all, but it takes half and hour to do so if it occurs each time I copy something it is a problem.