Lost my online library

Hello,

I'm new to Zotero and having scoured the forums couldn't find an answer to my problem. I just spent the last four hours adding research references to my collection through the Firefox Zotero application. When I opened up the standalone version on my Mac a sync occurred and all of the references I had added on Firefox disappeared. I am wondering why this happened, whether I can retrieve my research, and what I need to do to prevent this from happening again.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Chris
  • Just after posting I found an article that resolved my issue. Go figure.
  • could you link to the article for posterity please? I am having a similar problem
  • Where are your references missing from? Are you looking at Zotero Standalone, Zotero pane in Firefox or zotero.org webpage?
  • Well since I figured out my issue, I'll post it here in case anyone else has a similar problem:

I had zotero standalone installed on a laptop. and the hard drive failed. I was signed in and synced frequently, so I didn't think getting my library back would be an issue

When i installed zotero standalone on the new hard drive, I signed into my account and initiated a sync. Unfortunately, the version of the library that synced was quite old and missing a great deal of references.

Luckily, I was able to recover some of the files from the failed hard drive. I copied over the library files from "C:\Users\<User Name>\AppData\Roaming\Zotero\Profiles\<randomstring>\zotero" and my complete library was restored.

In the future, I'll make backups of my library file to a cloud storage service, but I'm wondering, what could have gone wrong with the sync process?
  • Possibilities:

1) Auto-sync wasn't enabled.

2) You were syncing to a different account.

3) You were getting a sync error, in which case there would have been a sync error icon to the left of the sync icon, which maybe you didn't notice.