Environmental science & technology (ES&T) style isn't totally right

I am new to zotero, and in the process of writing a paper to submitt to es&t.

I tried the style "Environmental Science & Technology", and also (as I found adviced somewhere) the "American Chemical Society (with titles, no "et al.")" (but it wasn't better).

The problem is small: it doesn't indicate the no., in parenthesis and normal character just after the volume, as (currently) indicated in ES&T author guidelines.

(Example from the guideline:
Travis, E. R.; Hannink, N. K.; van der Gast, C. J.; Thompson, I. P.; Rosser, S. J.; Bruce, N. C. Impact of transgenic tobacco on trinitrotoluene (TNT) contaminated soil community. Environ. Sci. Technol. 2007 , 41 (16), 5854–5861; DOI 10.1021/es070507a.

(from: http://pubs.acs.org/paragonplus/submission/esthag/esthag_authguide.pdf )
Zotero would not give the "(16)")

Oh? I also see now that the ES&T example gives the DOI, which zotero does not in my document.

(and both fields are filled in zotero for the paper I am using as a test to make it work... So I really think the problem is that the style is defined in a way that is not in agreement with ES&T expectations)

(I tried to look a bit at the style codes, but I am not really used to this type of codes (it doesn't really look like matlab), and wasn't able so far to do the desired modifications...)

So it would be great if someone somewhere at some point would be so kind as to modify the style "Environmental Science & Technology" to make it in agreement with journal expectations...
  • from p. 19 of the style guide:
    For references to journal articles
    , an issue number after volume number is helpful but not
    mandatory. DOI numbers are also helpful but not mandatory
    Since these are not used in the ACS style that ES&T refers to otherwise, I'd prefer to leave them out so we can keep using ACS for this rather than create a separate style that needs to be maintained.