Link to directory for reference

I'm new to Zotero, so please let me know if I'm missing an existing answer. (I've done a bit of searching, but didn't see anything that answered this.)

I want a very simple but important feature:
When I link to a reference, I would like the option to link to a directory/folder rather than a file. Sometimes I have a PDF, and other times I have a folder. The reason is obvious: I have multiple files inside that folder (perhaps multiple PDFs, several scanned image files, extra notes for the item, or even multiple copies of the same item).

If I can't link to a directory, then I will be unable to use Zotero to manage my files. I can still use it as an external database, but obviously that significantly limits the functionality.

In short, all I want is this:
1. Save metadata in Zotero.
2. Add a link to a file OR directory where I have that reference.
3. Click on that entry to open that file or directory.

Notes:
--I'm on a Mac, using Firefox.
--I don't care about any "sync" features. Stand-alone is better. (Many of my files are hundreds of megabytes-- eg, old books from archive.org, so backing that up would be a waste of space.)
--I'm looking for a convenient bibliography+organization tool to go on top of my existing directory structure (just a folder with many Author2013-format entries, either files or directories).

Thanks!
  • You can't link to a folder, but you can add links to multiple files (e.g., all files in a folder) at once by Cmd-Option-dragging the files to an item in Zotero. (On Windows/Linux, it's Ctrl-Shift-drag.) The files will all be underneath the item as linked file attachments.
  • Hi Dan,

Thanks.

Unfortunately, that doesn't work for me. There's a reason I have a folder-- it's a place to put any and all relevant files, not just because I have a set list of files to associate.

Example Reasons: