Translator for meetinglibrary.asco.org

I would really love a site translator for the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) abstracts repository (meetinglibrary.asco.org) I am willing to try my hand at writing one (I successfully installed Scaffold) but I have no XML/JAVA coding experience so I would need a lot of hand-holding. The issue that I could foresee is that the abstracts seem to be formatted as plain text (HTML?) and don't seem to have any metadata associated with them. Furthermore, it doesn't appear that JCO (the journal that publishes ASCO abstracts) doesn't appear to assign unique DOIs for each abstract. I'm not sure what the implications of this is for scaffold. Bottom line: I'd love a direct import feature that will recognize content like this : http://meetinglibrary.asco.org/content/97508-114
as a journal article and correctly assign the citation information for a direct Zotero import. Can anyone with more Scaffold/translator experience help me out, or would someone be willing to help create one? If I can learn to do this one, there are other sites like this one (repositories for clinical meeting abstracts) that I'd be willing to help develop translators for.

Cheers!
  • This wouldn't be a bad place to learn writing translators with. Essentially you'd scrape all the information from the page using xpaths. You'd only need limited javascript (no java or xml at all).

I good place to start would be here
    http://www.zotero.org/support/dev/how_to_write_a_zotero_translator_plusplus
    this isn't perfect, but should give you a good idea about how to work with xpaths. I'm happy to answer specific questions and do some hand-holding on the way. If this gets more technical, Dan may eventually ask us to move this over to the development listserv. If you want to quote larger snippets of code for questions, use a public gist at gist.github.com or pastebin.com