Working with a very large group

Hi, I'm a librarian at the University of North Carolina. I'm well-versed in Zotero as an individual user and in small groups, but have some questions about working with a larger team.

I'm working with a group of researchers who are collaborating to write an Oxford Handbook. It'll be an extensively researched publication with (probably) thousands of sources used. There will be dozens of authors collaborating on the work.

I've worked with them to set up a shared folder in a way that mostly meets their needs, and I've explored all the options, but now some other questions have come up that I haven't run into before:

-They'll be using a very rigid series of tags to organize the saved items. Is there a way to prevent group members from adding a tag which doesn't already exist?

-Many of the books they'll be citing have an editor, but no primary author. Zotero seems to always import the editor as an Author instead. I've tried pulling edited books from many different library catalogs, but editor always shows up as an author instead. Is this an issue with the catalogs, or a limitation of Zotero?

-There's also an elaborate system of subfolders used to organize resources. Many of the collaborators are confused to see items appear in both a subfolder and the root shared folder. Is there a way to disable this?

And lastly, does anybody have any tips for working with Zotero on a very large project like this?

Thanks!
  • They'll be using a very rigid series of tags to organize the saved items. Is there a way to prevent group members from adding a tag which doesn't already exist?
    no. But you could suggest to the researchers to only add tags to items by dragging the items to the tag in the tag selector on the left - that would of course prevent the selection of any new tags.