citations don't update

Hi,
I am new to Zotero, being a previous endnote user. I am writing a manuscript in Word, using the Zotero Word plug-in. Everything is up to date and I have even re-installed the plug-in. When I insert a new citation before previously inserted citations, the citation in the text is not updated for the subsequent citations, although it is updated correctly in the bibliography. Is there a solution to this problem?
  • Could you clarify with an example, I'm not sure I fully understand what you expect to update? Also, have you clicked the "update now" button in the word plugin?
  • Ok, I have worked on this a little more. I noticed some citation numbers in the text are updating and others are not. I suspect I inadvertenly clicked on a button to edit these preventing them from updating. I deleted those citations and reinstalled them and now they are updating correctly. Is there a way of checking for these kinds of changes or reverting all citations so that they automatically update? I am worried that my citations will not match up the bibliography at the end of editing this manuscript!
  • I don't see an "update now" button in the plugin. I have a "Zotero Refresh"
  • edited August 16, 2012
    I think if you switch the citationstyle (and back) Zotero will offer you to automatically override all manual edits.
  • and yes, I meant the Refresh button, sorry.
  • Ok, I tried that and everything seemed to work fine, so I guess there are no further problems. Thanks a lot for your help!
  • edited September 27, 2012