Inserting citation with LibreOffice plugin takes 20-30 minutes...

Hello,

Recently, adding a new citation to a document in with the Zotero LibreOfice integration plugin began taking an inordinately long amount of time (about 20-30 minutes), and a lot of system resources as well. Some pertinent information: I'm using Ubuntu 11.04, and Zotero standalone (although I've also tried it through Firefox). This occurred in a document that I've been working in for several months with no troubles (it's a dissertation chapter), and have never had this problem before on my system. This problem seems to have started after the latest LibreOffice and Firefox updates (updated at the approximately the same time through the Ubuntu autoupdate feature). I have tried deleting the bibliography (as was suggested in some old threads as a solution for increased insertion time), but to no avail. I have tried also using the old style in-text citation editor (instead of the "quick format citation" editor), but to no avail either. I am able to find the citation I want to insert using either of the intext citation editors, but when I click to insert it, it cycles a bit, and then appears to freeze for a long time (but the processor is still maxed out), and if I am patient enough to wait, the citation may be inserted after 20-30 minutes time. I am able to stop the insertion process by clicking the "x", and although the citation is not inserted, there is a greyed out field with the text {Citation} in it. I can delete this field if I want to.

Now here's the kicker. This ONLY happens with this particular document! I'm able to insert citations as normal in any other LibreOffice doc. This is a very important document, and I don't want to loose any of the citations that are in there (there are a lot). Does anybody have any suggestions for me as to what I might do to save this doc?

~Isaac
  • run through these, good chance that will help: