Importing and associating PDF files with references

Hi,

I'm just starting out with Zotero.

I have a collection of hundreds of PDF files from various journals, and would like to associate those files with their respective bibliographic information. Is there an automatic way to do this, or am I stuck manually adding the PDF file, and dragging it to the appropriate bibliographic item?

Thanks,
-Ben
  • edited June 4, 2008
    I'm joining Ben's Q, too. I got a huge pile of PDF documents, saved in a certain directory on my computer. Is there a way "telling" zotero to associate those files with their respective bibliographic information, in an automatically manner?
    Cheers,

Gal
  • edited June 4, 2008
    ben and gal,
    Unfortunately there is no way to do this automatically, for the simple reason that (unless I'm wrong) there is no consistent standard for storing metadata or document IDs within PDFs. Sure, some individual article databases may have patterns,putting citation info in a human-readable format on the first or last page, for example. But (1) this has generally not been done with machine-readablitiy in mind, so it's tricky to extract, and (2) every publisher seems to do it differently. It would not be impossible to write a 'scraper' to extract unique data from a PDF, and then try to associate it with a record in Zotero, but as far as I know, no one has done it, and it there would likely have to be a different scraper for each source (database or publisher) of PDFs. As I said, not impossible, but I wouldn't hold your breath.