backing up a large database without corrupting it

Hi-

I have some questions about syncing/backing up my Zotero library. I am a graduate student and I've been making a total transition to Zotero. When I ran out of the free space on Zotero, I bought 1GB for $20 a year. I quickly exceeded that and can't really afford to pay $60 a year. In looking for alternate solutions I came across Dropbox. In plowing ahead, I fear I made a few potentially poor choices and I would really like some advise in getting things back in order. Here are the questions:

1) Zotero has not been syncing properly since I ran out of space. Going forward I would like to ensure that my whole database of citations is backed up on the Zotero servers but I am happy if the pdf's and other media in my "storage" folder no longer reside on the Zotero servers (but instead live on dropbox). How do I safely achieve this setup? (See the note on the bottom...I may have already started creating some issues).

2) I hear there are some risks when using Dropbox with Zotero. I do not want to corrupt my zotero database (although I may already have done this). Am I correct in assuming that as long as I only keep the "storage" folder from Zotero backed up on my drop box I will be unlikely to corrupt my Zotero database?

3) How do I successfully move my storage folder with hundreds or thousands of documents and file to a new location without messing things up? I really don't want to create a disaster.

4) One of the reasons I'm doing this is so I can get Zotero to work more quickly. It has been really slow and laggy for a while now. I hear this may start happening when databases get too big, but I can't figure out how to accurately asses the size of my database. Can anyone tell me how I can figure out how many entries I have in a straightforward way?

Thanks for all of your help. I can't tell you how much I appreciate Zotero, and all that it has done for me.

Ben