Meta observation: lower response rate to web- and group-related suggestions

Here's a meta-observation. I have several years of experience here on the forums with filing bugs and proposing improvements for Zotero. On the whole I am quite impressed with the developers' response to these suggestions, both content-wise and in terms of follow-up in Zotero development.

One thing that has struck me though is that whenever I file proposals to do with the web interface (esp. display of libraries) and with Groups (web and client functionality), there are long silences and threads remain unanswered for a long time. It seems these threads are patrolled less intensively. Consequentially, it is very difficult to know whether the proposals have been seen, let alone whether they are being considered.

I don't know whether this is just something about forum activity or whether perhaps development of user-facing web and Groups functionality is rolling at a slower pace (a look at the state of the Groups web interface after two years suggests to me that it is at least partly the latter though). Anyway, the effect of this lack of responsiveness is that it becomes less rewarding to actually suggest improvements in these areas. This is a shame, because I think user interface design especially in this area could benefit more from user feedback than it has done so far.
  • I have noticed the same slow (or no) responses as well. I think the biggest reason that there is much less activity in this area is because the community cannot chip in to help fix the bugs. AFAIK there's only one person responsible for the website, so naturally changes would take longer.
  • I do read all of them. Unless I have very specific remarks (for example why something can't or probably won't be done) I often do not respond right away in the hopes that other people will chime in with their opinions on proposed changes.