Continuous (periodic) Mendeley import

I primarily use Mendeley for my reference management but I would like to use Zotero for citation formatting in documents as Mendeley is rather weak and particularly slow to improve on this feature. I currently use Zotero for checking and editing citation styles as well as for its library proxy management feature and hope that RTF scan will eventually improve and become a useful tool.

Hence, I would like to see Zotero implement a feature to continuously (periodically) monitor Mendeley database and update the Zotero database when new entries are present (one-way sync). I'm no developer, but I guess this would be possible via Mendeley's open APIs. A more generic, but I assume less reliable method, could be to periodically monitor a bibtex file since Mendeley can be setup to periodically update a bibtex file with the contents of the Mendeley library.

Although this would be great for me, I understand this may be considered too low impact for Zotero developers to take on as I have now idea how many others share my workflow. In that case, I would need to periodically, manually import the Mendeley-updated bibtex (or other) file into Zotero. How would this work the 2nd, 3rd, nth time I import the file (updated each time). Would Zotero ignore entres that are already in my zotero library and only import items added to the bibtex (or other) file since the last import? What is currently the most reliable file format to use for importing data from Mendeley?

Finally, I know a possibly solution could be to use Zotero to add references to the zotero database and then use Mendeley's feature for monitoring and imporing from Zotero (the opposite of what I am asking). But I have a preference for Mendeley's method of adding references/pdfs.
  • adding the same bibtex file multiple times will create (multiple) duplicates, so that's not going to be a great workflow.