EBSCO Host

I can not save any PDFs from EBSCO Host due to a translator error. Is there a way to get around this?
  • EBSCO doesn't save pdf attachments, but there shouldn't be a translator error - you'll need to be more specific in reporting bugs.
  • I've just worked out some changes that enable PDF saving from EBSCO.

Please go to http://github.com/ajlyon/translators/raw/master/EBSCOhost.js and save the file to the translators directory of your Zotero data directory (http://www.zotero.org/support/zotero_data).

It should start working. If this works for you, please post here so that I can submit this change to be pushed to all users.
  • Nope. Didn't work for me. But your directions are very unclear. There was no way to "save" the web site to the translator directory. So I copy and pasted your code into Notepad, and saved it as a Ebscopdf.js in Unicode. I'm no programmer, so I think it was in Unicode, but there are different types of Unicode. I just set it for plain old unicode. Then I dragged the file into my translator directory. Then I went to Ebsco and tried downloading and only the file came, not the PDF.

I thought maybe there was a problem with too many Ebsco translators. So I move EBSCOhost to my desktop, and changed the file name of the new translator to EBSCOhost. When I tried it then, zotero only downloaded the zotero record, whereas previously it downloaded the zotero record and the EBSCO Record as a child attachment.

Almost all of my research is done with Ebsco, so I really need it to download PDFs or Zotero isn't useful to me. Please let me know what I did wrong.
  • shanaheinricy: You're profoundly overdoing this. Right-click (Control-click on a Mac) on the link ajlyon provided, choose Save Link As…, and save it to your translators directory. File->Save Page As… after viewing the file would also work. Replace the existing translator.