More Undo functionality

I'm very new to Zotero, but I've noticed that there aren't a lot of Undo options for common tasks. I may have been coddled by years of this being a common feature, but I'm a little surprised and disappointed that I may make accidental changes that I can't "Undo". This makes me hesitant to switch to using Zotero full-time.

For example:

• Editing a field: Undo works as long as the cursor is in the field, but as soon as I hit "Return"/"Enter", those changes are committed, and can't be undone.
  • Moving items. I noticed that if items are deleted (move to Trash), they can be restored, but I have to go to the Trash, find the appropriate item, right-click, and select "Restore to Library". But, if I accidentally drag a child item from one item to another, There's no way to undo it!
  • Other things I just can't think of right now.

How much Undo support is already included? Are there limitations to the interface that prevent "Command/Control-Z" from triggering "Undo"? Is there a need for an "Undo" button in the toolbar to provide direct access to this feature, and have it greyed out when Undo is not available?

• It's not an interface issue—Zotero just doesn't have any undo functionality currently. It'd obviously be good to have, but it's not trivial to implement.

Cmd/Ctrl-Z within text areas is provided by Mozilla.
  • How would you implement undo functionality? Something like Photoshop's history panel? ( http://help.adobe.com/en_US/Photoshop/11.0/WSfd1234e1c4b69f30ea53e41001031ab64-7497a.html )
  • Thanks for the replies.

Wow Rintze, that looks complicated. I'd be happy with being able to undo/redo changes to individual items in order (all since Zotero was started, or last save):

• edit field (including tags, notes, etc.)
    • collections
    • move to trash
    • also changes to child items (parent item, contents, etc.)