ABIWORD support.

Abiword is a great, more readable (to me) word processor that also (to me) resembles word 2003. Please make a .dll plug-in for Abiword! Open Office is ok, but after some time the typeface of any font rendered by it gives me headaches. To top that off I am required to use 12 point Times New Roman (blah). I am a double major student, and have a lot of typing to do so I need my Abiword.
  • I support this. Abiword is especially attractive because of its very moderate system requirements. Abiword is also the software that runs on the OLPC-laptop (OpenOffice would consume way too much memory). Since Zotero is such a great tool for knowledge-management, it would be great if it could be used on the OLPC machines, too.
  • some addition: I also sent the feature request to the people at abiword.

Their position is that

"the license of zotera is not well known and its compatibity with GPL hasn't been documented"

Is it true that there are issues concerning the compatibility between the Educational Community Licence and the GPL that could be an obstacle for an Abiword-plugin?
  • I don't think the license is that relevant. We're talking about a third-party plug-in.

Projects like AbiWord need to start thinking about generic interfaces for this sort of thing. It's rather inefficient that every word-processor and every bibliographic solution needs to roll their own code for each piece.
  • Thanks for your answer. I cannot speak for the community of Abisource developers, but the discussion on
    http://bugzilla.abisource.com/show_bug.cgi?id=11271
    gives me the impression that, basically due to a lack of manpower, they won't develop a plugin on their own. However, they also write that if someone else (within the Zotero-Project?) would work on a plugin,
    "We'd happily help them and consider including their plugin in our distribution."