LibreOffice problems in debian

Hi all

I've been using Zotero for a few months ago and had never experienced any problems. But today when trying to add a quote I came across the following error message:

An error occurred Communicating with Zotero:

java.net.SocketException: Network is unreachable
java.net.PlainSocketImpl.socketConnect at (Native Method)
java.net.PlainSocketImpl.doConnect at (PlainSocketImpl.java: 351)
java.net.PlainSocketImpl.connectToAddress at (PlainSocketImpl.java: 213)
java.net.PlainSocketImpl.connect at (PlainSocketImpl.java: 200)
at java.net.SocksSocketImpl.connect (SocksSocketImpl.java: 366)
at java.net.Socket.connect (Socket.java: 529)
at java.net.Socket.connect (Socket.java: 478)
at java.net.Socket. <init> (Socket.java: 375)
at java.net.Socket. <init> (Socket.java: 189)
at org.zotero.integration.ooo.comp.Comm.run (Comm.java: 272)
at java.lang.Thread.run (Thread.java: 662)

This error is similar to that reported by Charpente http://forums.zotero.org/discussion/17036/, but failed to fix it.

I'm using Debian Testing, LibreOffice 3.3.3, Zotero 2.1.10, OpenOffice integration Zotero 3.5b1, iceweasel 5.0 with Java (TM) Plug-in 1.6.0_26 and Sun Java 6.

I have an additional question. How do I configure additional preferences integration OpenOffice 3.5b1? I make right click in preferences and leads me to the Zotero preferences, but not the plugin integration can select the directory where the Java runtime environment.

Any idea how to solve the problem?
Thanks for your help.
  • Either you are firewalling 127.0.0.1, which seems unlikely, or it is almost certainly the same bug reported by Charpente. I'm afraid I can't help you beyond suggesting that you try IcedTea instead of Sun Java, or disable IPv6. Zotero OpenOffice Integration does not require paths to be specified manually since 3.5.
  • Hi Simon, thank you for your answer.