Using Zotero as well as other reference managers

Hello

Apologies if this has been covered somewhere else, but I couldn't find it.

I have been playing with Zotero for a couple of months and am liking it a lot and considering migrating my entire EndNote reference collection (5000+ refs, linked to hard copies of PDFs) to it. However, I haven't had the time to explore it fully and would like to do that before investing in changing reference managers (particularly as I would have to re-link all the PDFs). In the meantime, I need to keep using Endnote for my daily work.

I very much like Zotero's "capture" facility. But I need to be able to continue to export references to EndNote and in some journal interfaces I can't do it anymore - things just go straight to Zotero. For example - in Nature references just go to Zotero despite the fact that I have selected the option of exporting to EndNote. In PNAS it just goes to Zotero without asking me.

I've unselected the option of "Use zotero for downloaded RIS/Refer files" and that made no difference.

This is sufficiently getting on my nerves and making me waste time that I may end up having to uninstal Zotero so that I can continue working as usual.

So I would be very grateful if you could let me know if there is something I can do about it. Ideally, I would like Zotero to capture a reference when I click on the icon in the address bar but not when I am using the journals' "citation download" service.

Many thanks, congratulations for a great tool, and all the best
Ana
  • Which version of Zotero are you using and on which platform?

I cannot replicate your problem, but saw a similar complaint in the comment of a blog post.

When I go to a PNAS URL such as:
    http://www.pnas.org/cgi/citmgr?type=endnote&gca=pnas;104/34/13551
    Zotero will only catch a reference if "Use zotero for downloaded RIS/Refer files" is checked.