Rationale for non-standard PDF annotations?

If I understand correctly, the new Zotero PDF reader does not perform "standard" PDF annotations -- by which I mean, annotations made in the new reader do not show up in other apps like Preview, Highlights, PDF Expert, Bookends, etc. (I'm not an expert, but over the last few years the developers of those apps have started referring to a "standard" for annotations, and indeed they all seem to be recognized and editable by each other, so I'll assume that there is indeed a "standard" somewhere).

However I also noticed that the new "add notes from PDF" function in Zotero desktop is able to correctly extract annotations that were made with a "standard" PDF app like those mentioned above. This is good, and it points to a situation where those of us who want things to be inter-operable would have to annotate *outside* the official Zotero reader, even if the next step in the workflow is to use Zotero desktop to extract those annotations and add them to the metadata already held in Zotero.

Can someone explain to me what was the rationale behind Zotero's decision to adopt a non-standard PDF annotation system? I'm sure they discussed this somewhere already, so a link may be all that's needed to clarify.

Relatedly: will it be possible to use an "open in other app" feature from the iPad app to be able to annotate a PDF held by Zotero with the standard annotation method? (I don't have access to the iOS beta so can't simply answer the latter question for myself).
  • edited February 16, 2022
    See the two last bullet points here:
    https://www.zotero.org/support/pdf_reader_preview#additional_info

which also explain that you don't actually have to annotate outside of Zotero to generate standard (and standard is the right word: they're part of the ISO standard that's PDF) PDF annotations