Zotero's response being slow

Hi,
I have read through several discussions related to Zotero being slow and potential troubleshooting solutions. Unfortunately, I haven't been able to fix the issue.
I've been using Zotero for a few years now, and the issue of being super slow popped up just a few months ago (FYI I use Windows and don't run any programs other than Chrome and Word while using Zotero). It's not only inserting in-text citations that's being extra slow (sometimes takes up to 10 minutes to find a reference), but also search within Zotero, navigating the folders etc. I have 16k references in my library, but I've read that this number shouldn't slow down Zotero that much.
Any advice or suggestions are much appreciated.
Thank you.
Julia
  • Can you provide some Debug IDs for operations that are slow?
  • Thanks for a quick response! Here's the Debug ID: D1897191303
  • Can you provide a Debug ID for Zotero startup, using the "Restart with Logging Enabled…" option?
  • edited October 27, 2021
    And just to clarify, that first Debug ID was showing a search for an item in the citation dialog taking a while (~18 seconds)?
  • D1791570436

In response to your other comment, yes, 18 seconds is not too horribly bad, but sometimes it might take about 5 minutes just to locate a citation in my library.
  • It looks like the search was much faster after the restart, though, no?

We'd really want a few different Debug IDs here, showing specific individual actions that are slow.
  • Absolutely! Please see below:

- merging duplicates: D688393750
    - inserting bibliography: D1772807395
    - adding in-text citations to existing ones: D520139759

Any other information you need?

• edited October 27, 2021