Newbie questions

edited June 24, 2021
Hello, newbie here. To avoid having to use ($) Zotero storage and to maintain a clear and easily accessible folder of PDF’s in my iCloud, I thought it better to link to all my PDF files.

Am I understanding it correctly I cannot access these files via Zotero on an ipad?

How do I relink files if ever I move them into different (sub) folders?

When I add a book which consists of multiple chapter PDF's, am I doing this right: the parent is the book info and metadata and the chapters are called (linked) “attachments" (not book sections) that appear underneath the dropdown arrow. How can I reorder these attachments (to be in the correct chapter order)?

I could use the Zotero storage but don’t like that it is hard to access the files outside of Zotero (they’re stored in folders with weird names and can only be found via search), making files almost locked to be used in Zotero only.

I have a large library of PDF’s that needs organising. All I want is a database for all my PDF files, accessible from all devices, synced, etc. Mac’s finder is very limited and I can’t find much except via search.

Thanks for any help!
  • How can I reorder these attachments (to be in the correct chapter order)?
    Attachments are ordered by the attachment title, which you can change by right-clicking on the name in the right-hand pane.
    I could use the Zotero storage but don’t like that it is hard to access the files outside of Zotero (they’re stored in folders with weird names and can only be found via search), making files almost locked to be used in Zotero only.
    This isn't the case at all. They're accessible via Spotlight, which is usually the fastest way to find anything. If you really want a flat list, you can create a saved search in Finder that shows all PDFs within the data directory.