Citekeys with Internal Links

Hi all,

I'm new to Zotero, and have been doing my best to piece together how to use this program from around the web.

I'm running into two problems with BetterBibTex with which I could use others' help/advice:

1.) Using quick-copy, I want to generate Citekeys with @ in front of them instead of \cite. How do I adjust the quick-copy template in this regard?

2.) I understand that it's possible for citekeys to have an internal hyperlink attached to them such that when the internal hyperlink is followed, it will open up Zotero to the exact item reference via the Citekey. How is this possible? I would love it if quick-copy could generate a citekey with the internal hyperlink included.

Thank you all for your help!
  • 1. Set the quick copy format to pandoc in the BBT prefs

2. Set the quick copy format to select link with citekey in the BBT prefs
  • Thank you for the help!

1.) Done, and works.

2.) I cannot find this option under BBT preferences. I'm in the "citation key" sub-menu. After selecting "pandoc" as the quick-copy citation method, there are no other options to attach a Zotero internal link to the citatation.

Here is an example of what I would like for Zotero to output for quick placement within an Obsidian note - [@seneca,SENECASHORTNESSLIFE,2016](zotero://select/library/items/3K9BG22A)

Instead, I can only configure Zotero using BBT to output the @citekey with no link, or the zotero link with no citekey, depending on the quick-copy format I select.

Once again, I appreciate the assistance very much.
  • Sorry, 2. would have to be "Citekey select link". It's the one or the other I'm afraid, Zotero allows just one translator to be selected for quick copy, and the setting that worked for you in 1. is just a way to configure the behavior of the BBT quick copy translator.

But if you want both as one, you can select "Eta template" and enter

<% it.items.forEach(function(item) {