search bar not working

Apologies in advance if this is a "how did you not figure this out already?" stupid kind of question.
I am new to Zotero - I just switched from Mendeley, which I have used for quite some time but I wanted to support this app instead.
In Mendeley, there is a literature search bar where I can type in keywords, authors, or entire journal article titles to search the web for what I'm looking for. Example, let's say I wanted to find a paper about depression, if I simply only typed in 'depression' in the search bar I would have thousands of results pop up. Usually I use this feature for adding articles to my library when I alread.

I have no switched to Zotero and I cannot for the life of me, get the search bar to work for finding articles on the web. Does the search bar only search articles you already have in your library? I just keep getting 'no items in this view' in the right pane no matter whether I select 'everything', 'all fields & tags', or 'title, creator, year'. When I hit enter in the search bar, it thinks for about 0.1 seconds, and then does nothing.

Please help!

PS - I'm running MacOS Mojave 10.14.3 and this issue is on the desktop app - not the web app.
  • In Zotero, the search bar is the web. The whole point of Zotero is that it integrates tightly with your web browser and allows you to save from a huge range of sites with a single click.

If you happen to have an identifier (DOI, ISBN, PMID, arXiv ID) for a source, you can add it from within the app using Add Item by Identifier, but otherwise you just find it in your browser and click Save to Zotero to save it to Zotero.

Read through Adding Items to Zotero to understand the basic recommended workflow here.