Disambiguating same author in-text citations in MLA8 (New User)

Hi!

Rank newbie here to Zotero. I've already used Mendeley with APA7, but I love the features of Zotero, which are working far better for me. My current document needs MLA8 formatting and I discovered that the in-text citations of different works by the same author aren't differentiated in this style since there is no year used in the in-text entry. Ideally, I suppose it should show a shortened version of the title, but I am not sure why it doesn't show anything. Is there something I should enable/enter or is my only option adding a "prefix" to each entry individually? I'd appreciate any help or pointers to an earlier post where this has been addressed. (I have searched in vain, unable to find the answer).
  • The style disambiguates by adding the short title to the citation, following the MLA style guide.
  • Thanks for clarifying. Unfortunately for me, this feature doesn't seem to be working. I am not sure how to attach a screengrab, but basically my in-text citation reads

(Patricia S Churchland; Patricia S Churchland; P. M. Churchland)

when the first two entries are from different books.

Here is how it appears in the bibliography:

Churchland, Patricia S. Braintrust: What Neuroscience Tells Us about Morality. Princeton University Press, 2018.

---. “Toward a Natural Science of the Mind.” Consciousness at the Crossroads: Conversations with the Dalai Lama on Brainscience and Buddhism, edited by Zara Houshmand et al., Snow Lion Publications, 1999, pp. 18–31.

Churchland, Paul M. Matter and Consciousness: A Contemporary Introduction to the Philosophy of Mind. Rev. ed, MIT Press, 1988.

Is there something I should be doing differently?
  • This should just work for the two Patricia Churchland books and does for me -- could you test this in an otherwise empty document?
  • Hi adamsmith! Yes, it worked. Thank you so much!