pdf syncing issues

Hey folks--

I'm fairly new to Zotero, and so far I love it! I do seem to be having an issue, however, getting pdf files to show up on both computers I use for Zotero. I use a webdav through my university. It is set up and verified. The Zotero folder on it has received a bunch of stuff from both computers. I am working from the same version of Zotero (the latest...2.0b6) on both computers, which are Windows-based. Both are set to auto-sync and enable file attaching.

My problem is that not all pdf files are available on both computers. Many from the work computer don't show up at home and vice versa. They each claim a different number of indexed pdfs. In addition, a number of pdfs that say they are NOT indexed will show up and open on the "away" computer from original upload (this doesn't seem right to me, but I might be misunderstanding something!). Others get the "Attached file could not be found" message when I try to open them.

I receive no sync error messages. Each computer believes it has uploaded all files successfully as far as I can see.

I have tried to reindex, resynced manually, and reverified my webdav.

Am I missing something? All of my references are syncing fine. It is just the attachments not (all) cooperating.

Thank you so much for this great tool and for all of your help.
  • I have same problem.
    I am running the latest version of Zotero and Firefox 3.0 or higher.
    I am trying to share my data on multiple computers. I have tried to redirect the custom data directory to a shared drive in our office, which should in theory allow me to access everything.
    However, what happens is that only part of the Zotero data directory gets copied to the new custom location. This includes all the info except for the randomly named files under the "storage" folder.
    So, when I start Zotero, I see all my entries, but when I click on a PDF attachment, it says "PDF can't be located".