What is the right item type for a conference proceedings volume

I'm using Zotero, but my background is using Bibtex, which has an item type that is `@proceedings`. What's the corresponding type for Zotero? I don't see anything obvious in the pull-down menu ("book" is probably the closest).

Bibtex will typically optimize a bibliography by citing the conference proceedings volume separately, and cross-referencing from the citations for individual conference papers, so you don't have to repeat the book title, editors, address, etc.
  • CSL cannot do that sort of cross-referencing in the bibliography.

I would recommend storing these volumes as Book. If you are using Zotero to manage a BibTeX database, I recommend you install and use the BetterBibTeX plugin. You can tell BetterBibTeX to export an item as @proceedings by adding tex.referencetype: proceedings to the Extra field.
  • @bwiernik Thank you so much for cluing me in!

I was pretty sure that this was possible with Better Bibtex, but my Search fu was just too weak to find the solution.

Really appreciate the response.
  • For reference, it is (fairly summarily, I admit) described here.

I wouldn't blame your Search-fu. Given how many knobs and dials BBT has accrued over the years, I realize that BBTs discoverability of features, both in terms of its UI and the documentation site, is rather poor. I have a blind spot for these things as I by and large know how BBT works and I find it hard to find the things I understand non-obvious, and even then it happens occasionally that I set out to fix a problem for a user only to find out after delving through the code in search for the right place to make it possible that I have, in fact, made it possible long ago.
  • @emilianoeheyns In this section:
    Changing the exported reference type