Novice question about modified reference types

I am a grad student in early modern history and recent convert from Endnote. I just read this

http://www.zotero.org/support/requesting_styles

but a few things are still unclear to me.

My problem is that early printing was an imprecise science, and we often find numerous different versions of the same title in a given year. For my work, then, I require a slight modification of the Chicago Style that would allow for the inclusion of the ISBN number (but really an identifying number taken from an academic index like the English Short Title Catalog) in the first footnote and bibliography. In Endnote, I was able to alter one of the existing reference types in Chicago, which I applied to all such books.

My footnotes look something like this (I frequently need author, editor, and translator, and sometimes also series editor):

First name Last Name, /Title/, ed. First Name Last Name, trans. First Name Last Name (City: Printer, Year, Bibliographic Number), pgs.

I could add the bibliographic number to the year field, in a pinch, I think, but it would diminish the utility of the year field in the database.

Being new to Zotero, I'm not exactly sure what I want: a new style, or a dependent style (and I'm not sure what that is)? I wouldn't mind tinkering with CSL, but where do my styles live? Could a new reference type (like "old book") live alongside the existing fields, or would I have I have to sacrifice one?

Thank you for any advice.
  • edited July 24, 2009
    1.New reference type is not possible (i.e. not customizable)
    2. A dependent style is not what you want - it is the exact same thing under a different name - e.g. if a Journal requests CMS people will stiff find the Journal's name in the style repository.