Australasian Legal Information Institute

2»
  • Great! I'll put some time in some of the case archive translators in the next week or two, to try to improve the quality of the data Zotero gets from them.

(Note: um, it's the other way around ...)
  • (Note: um, it's the other way around ...)
    Er, yes. Corrected, thanks.
  • Hello,

I'm a law student in the UK with some experience with dynamic languages. I'd like to help!

I'm afraid I've got a very newbie question to start off with though. I've seen these pages http://code.google.com/p/zotero-for-lawyers/wiki/BAILII , but as an end-user I'm not sure what I'm meant to do with those .sql snippets to bring those translators into Zotero. Is this method of translator distribution out of date now in 2.x? Must I install Scaffold to import them? (if so how are non-dev's meant to use them?)

Thanks!
  • yes, that's long out of date - translators are simple .js files that are placed in the translator folder of Zotero and automatically loaded on FF restart.
    See here for a current guide.
    http://www.zotero.org/support/dev/how_to_write_a_zotero_translator_plusplus

I'm not sure if the .sql there is at all helpful anymore.
  • The documentation on creating and modifying translators is a bit of a mess right now, and the guide adamsmith linked to is incomplete and not yet suitable for reading.

In short, translators are stored as individual files in your Zotero profile, and can be edited with any tool, but many authors of Zotero translators (me included) prefer to use the Zotero 2.0-compatible Scaffold 2.0: http://www.zotero.org/support/dev/scaffold (the info on this page is up-to-date).
  • Welcome aboard! Development for law has been languishing, but not for want of good intentions; Zotero 2.1 will have much-improved infrastructure for legal styles, and this is certainly a good time to dust off the xLII translators.