Questions about the migration from Citavi 5 to zotero concerning todos and biblatex-keys

Hi there!

I'm quite new to zotero because I worked with citavi before. But now I like to switch and
I used these instructions https://www.zotero.org/support/kb/import-from-citavi#citavi_xml_format to import my citavi-data into zotero.

Everything worked fine but I had some todos ("Aufgaben") in my citavi-project. They were indeed imported to zotero but without any connection to the publications they were linked to before. E.g. I got 47 note-entries with "read" (yes, I'm a bit behind with my work), which are contain only the word "read" and the tag "#todo". Is that how it's supposed to work? I would have expected that these entries are somehow linked to my publication-entries.

My second question is about importing existing biblatex-keys from citavi to zotero. I used citavi to export to biblatex and therefore let citavi create the biblatex-keys. But unfortunately theses keys do not seem to appear in zotero now. Are they just dropped? Or is there some way to import these keys to zotero?

Best regards
Seb
  • I'm afraid you'll have to pick -- you can get the full Citavi import but without biblatex keys or you can use Citavi's biblatex export and import that in Zotero and get the biblatex keys (when using the Better Bib(La)TeX extension, but you'll lose everything that's not in the biblatex.

Not sure about the todo lists -- You may well be hitting the limits of translatability between Zotero and Citavi there, since Zotero isn't really designed as a full workflow tool to the extent Citavi is.
  • How does Citavi generate the keys? If they're not part of the export, maybe they're not in the Citavi DB; if Citavi generates them when it exports bibtex, maybe BBT can generate keys that are the same.
  • edited April 30, 2019
    Hi again! Thanks for your fast replies!