Zotfile "Extract Annotations" failures from certain kinds of PDF readers?

Hello!

First of all I want to preface by saying how incredibly in love with the Zotero/Zotfile system. I am a year into my graduate program and taking the time to finally learn and set up Zotero is completely transforming my workflow. Second preface is I am not at all a tech guru and I may completely misunderstand how some of this works, so please bear with me/be willing to explain where you can!

I am finding the "Extract annotations" feature incredibly useful, and possibly one of the best aspects of this system. However, I really can't stand highlighting in Adobe Reader/on my computer in general. There's a few reasons for this, one being that I've incorporated an ipad pro/apple pencil and just find handwritten annotation much more natural/appealing. However, even if I try to switch into it for the sake of the ease of use with Zotero, the highlighting tool on the Adobe interface is just clunky and obtuse. It highlight too much, the lines are often way longer than I want, the UI is just not intuitive, IMO.

So, I prefer to annotate on my iPad pro and then sync it with Papership, the app that syncs everything back to Zotero. I've tried using many different PDF annotation tools on the iPad (Papership's own in-app annotation, PDF Office Expert, PDF Viewer, PDF Expert) but none of them are working quite as seamlessly as my absolute favorite and go-to: GOODNOTES. Granted I use GoodNotes for a range of other tasks, but it is by far and away the most natural PDF mark-up tool I use in my workflow.