error message 398468093

Hello,
I'm new to Zotero. I just got an error message that said to post this number to the forum. I'm not sure if this is the correct spot. I tried to Sync Zotero. I now see the error message: Child items cannot be assigned to collections
I don't know what this means. Should I be concerned? I know I just read a paper and did some highlighting. I tried to save the file in the same spot as the original so that it would replace the original. However, when I re-opened the paper to check to see if it saved the highlighting - there was no highlighting. So perhaps this was the cause? I then tried to sync Zotero to see if it would find the document and then received this error message.
Thanks for your help.
Erin
  • Can you provide a Debug ID (different from a Report ID) for a sync attempt that produces that?

You should then try restarting Zotero if you haven't yet to see if that helps.
  • Hello, I wasn't sure what was meant by Debug ID so I tried syncing again to see if there was a reference to a Debug ID. I didn't see anything but I did get the following message. I then clicked on your linked reference to Debug ID and see that I need to do something different. I will do that as well and send you the info next.
    Thanks,
    Erin
    [JavaScript Error: "Error 400 for item 4R6UCC9V in My Library:

ZoteroObjectUploadError: Child items cannot be assigned to collections"]

[JavaScript Error: "Child items cannot be assigned to collections" {file: "chrome://zotero/content/xpcom/sync/syncEngine.js" line: 1314}]

[JavaScript Error: "Error 400 for item YQVNTLYK in My Library:

[JavaScript Error: "Child items cannot be assigned to collections" {file: "chrome://zotero/content/xpcom/sync/syncEngine.js" line: 1314}]

[JavaScript Error: "Error 400 for item K2DZ5NDY in My Library:

[JavaScript Error: "Made no progress during upload -- stopping" {file: "chrome://zotero/content/xpcom/sync/syncEngine.js" line: 1373}]