PDF reader as part of Zotero

First, I am extremely new to Zotero (2 days). I decided to switch from Mendeley when I learned they were encrypting their database to make it harder to get my data out. So, if this has been discussed before, please forgive me. I searched but did not find anything.

My question is, has there been any thought of building a PDF editor into Zotero?

I know there is something to be said for focusing your core skills and depending on others to handle the extra stuff, but as someone who has used Mendeley for a few years and Zotero for a few days, I only find one great frustration when using Zotero: Annotating PDFs.

Mendeley is quite polished in this area. I mean, their UI is really easy to use. With Zotero, first I have to find a decent PDF reader that supports annotations. Fine, there is evince, okular, and others. First, I tried Okular but when I would save the annotated PDF, it would start on my desktop and I had to try to find the original file which seems to be in a folder which is calculated by a hashcode (or something similar). Then, when I do it with my next PDF, it starts in the the folder of the previous document and I must navigate to another folder. It's far from easy.

Evince is better at this, but there is still the issue that I need to save, overwrite, and hope I don't forget and do something which causes problems. So, I need to close and re-open to ensure that everything did work as planned. More time which feels wasted.

Short version: It would be fantastic if Zotero had its own built in PDF reader which could simply overwrite the PDF being annotated (or writen side-by-side for those who want to keep a 'clean' copy of the PDF). Also, it would allow some flexibility like making annotations searchable (which Mendeley could not do, though I wish it would have).

Is there any chance that this would/could happen? I don't have a lot of free time but I would contribute some of my free time to help build such a tool.