Displaying # of pages in Item Type Menu

I'm new to Zotero and still trying to get the basic hang of it. I think I may be missing something super obvious but in the field listings (creator, item, year, publisher, etc.), I want # of pages to list. When I select "pages" as a field to display, all the items remain blank.

The number of pages is present as part of each item's info (i.e. # of pages is filled out with a specific number for each listing) -- and with other fields, like the title, an alteration of the info also alters the text that displays on the item title. In this case, making changes to # of pages doesn't seem to be listing any information under the pages field.

I looked through the forums but didn't quite see anything which dealt with this specifically. It's probably something super obvious, but any help would be majorly appreciated.
  • edited August 14, 2018
    That field simply isn't available as a column in the middle panel -- it also doesn't seem particularly useful, since I don't think one would be inclined to sort by number of pages. Why do you want it in the middle panel?
  • Thanks so much for clearing that up! Much appreciated! You're right -- it's not really for referencing functions per se -- but there are a couple of reasons. The first is to do with reading mood and quantitative research rate. When I'm in the mood for a quick leisure read or wish to maximise a window of research per number of books as well as strictly by quality, I like to pick items at random based on how quickly, page-wise, I'm liable to be able to get through it.

The second thing is more a matter of curiosity as to how many total pages I might have in my library (which would have been my follow-up question: whether there was a means to have Zotero calculate and supply that information).