slow word for mac plugin + weird double references

Hello,
I am running word for mac 16.15 (180709), zotero plugin (5.0.15.SA.5.0.54), and zotero 5.0.54. Quite honestly, I am wondering what I am doing wrong, since I do not believe this is how it is intended to work.

Adding a new reference in the 'quick' option takes 10-15 seconds. After I turned off 'automatic update citations'. I even turned off all background apps that I could, and I am running fine specs MBP from 2017 so it must be software issue.

I know that with a dissertation (250+ pages) it might get tad bit longer, but boy, it is already 2018 and I cannot spends 5+ hours just correcting my references in one chapter. There must be another way.

I am new to Zotero - until June I was using Mendeley, which was a breeze, until their lack of support for Sierra and High Sierra suddenly meant the app won't start anymore. I migrated my database and was pleasantly surprised Zotero did such a good job getting over the fields created in mendeley. Until I figured that ca 25 references have created 'fake doubles': Publication (2015a), Publication (2015b), even though there is just one entry in my database. Correcting it manually in the text works until I hit 'refresh', then it just returns to that. I tried different styles, reinstalling the plugin, but this issue also persists.

Anybody can help me out with that? Thanks so much. Daniel
  • I am afraid the Word 16.9+ update that hit at the start of this year really slowed down Word integration, I believe for Mendeley too. The speed of insertion depends both on the number of citations and the size of the document and is largely out of control of Zotero, since most of the time is spent in waiting for Word to complete various operations required for the integration. You might be experiencing something weird, in which case could you produce a Debug ID from Zotero?

1. In the Help menu, go to Debug Output Logging and select Enable.