Adding editor category and special issue in a journal

Dear colleagues,

I am new to Zotero and have started populating my first library - beginning with all my publications.

I cannot see an option "Editor" for roles, which would be relevant for books or book sections or for journals or for special issues in journals.

Also, I can not see "Special issue" as a publication category. Posibly you could also consider "Encyclopedia" and "Encyclopedia entry" as two distinct publication categories.

Thank you,

Manja
  • Editor: By clicking on "Author" you can change it to editor, translator, contributor etc.

For which item type would this Special issue be?
  • Are you trying to cite the entire special issue or an article in it?

If the entire issue, use Journal Article and enter the title as the title of the special issue. Put “Medium: Special issue” in Extra.

If an article in the issue, use Journal Article and enter the article info as normal. Put “Special issue on [title of issue]” in the Series field.
  • edited July 8, 2019
    I'm reviving this thread.

There is a special journal issue I want to cite an article from.
    https://www.crimeandjustice.org.uk/sites/crimeandjustice.org.uk/files/PSJ 221 September 2015.pdf

Trying different things with Zotero (swapping and/or removing volume & issue), I got these results below (item type: journal article). Which of them looks right to you?

Scott, D. G. (2015). Eating your insides out: Cultural, physical and institutionally-structured violence in the prison place. Prison Service Journal, (221), 58–62.
    [Volume: blank - Issue: 221]

Scott, D. G. (2015). Eating your insides out: Cultural, physical and institutionally-structured violence in the prison place. Prison Service Journal, 221, 58–62.
    [Volume: 221 - Issue: blank]

Scott, D. G. (2015). Eating your insides out: Cultural, physical and institutionally-structured violence in the prison place. Prison Service Journal, 221(Special edition), 58–62.