APA 6 inverted sorting on in-text citation

Hello everyone,

I'm new to Zotero so maybe it's just a silly mistake, but I didn't find any solution in the forums.

I'm trying to cite the following journal articles:

Tsang, S., Piquero, A. R., & Cauffman, E. (2014). An Examination of the Psychopathy Checklist: Youth Version (PCL:YV) Among Male Adolescent Offenders: An Item Response Theory Analysis. Psychological Assessment, 26(4), 1333-1346. doi: 10.1037/a0037500

Tsang, S., Schmidt, K. M., Vincent, G. M., Salekin, R. T., Moretti, M. M., Odgers, C. L. (2015). Assessing Psychopathy Among Justice Involved Adolescents With the PCL: YV: An Item Response Theory Examination Across Gender. Personality Disorders: Theory, Research, and Treatment, 6(1), 22–31. doi: 10.1037/per0000094

First authors are the same person. According to the APA Style guide, the in-text citation should look like (Tsang et al., 2014, 2015). However, Zotero Word plugin sorts it as (Tsang et al., 2015, 2014). Of course, I can correct it by unchecking the "Keep sources sorted" option - still, I would like to know if this a problem with the plugin, if I'm missing something obvious or if there was an update to the style that I'm unaware of.

I appreciate any help. Cheers!
  • Neither of these are correct APA style. APA adds authors before et al. to disambiguate, i.e. correct would here would be (Tsang, Piquero et al., 2015; Tsang, Schmidt et al., 2014) and Zotero's APA style should be doing this .

(it'd also add an ampersand for the second citation use an en-dash for the page range of the first, and use the new https://doi.org/ format for DOIs)

How exactly are you generating these citations?
  • Sorry, I forgot to mention that this is the second citation of the 2014 article. My bad.