2. Citation, 2010
1. Citation, 1997

The style I am using (based on Cell) currently outputs:
1. Citation, 2017
2. Citation, 2010
3. Citation, 1997

It seems like this question has already been asked:
https://forums.zotero.org/discussion/comment/99189
But, I cannot find anything in Zotero or in CSL documentation as to how to do this. Apologies if this has already been answered somewhere - I am a CSL newbie and learning to do this for a faculty member.

Much thanks for any assistance,

Donna
  • I'm afraid this still isn't possible
  • edited April 13, 2018
    Oh no! :(
    OK - I will make do. This would be a great thing to incorporate!

Thanks for your reply and for considering,
    Donna
  • edited April 13, 2018
    It might be possible. Give this a try:

https://github.com/citation-style-language/test-suite/blob/master/processor-tests/humans/sort_BibliographyCitationNumberDescendingViaMacro.txt

The trick seems to be wrapping citation-number in a macro, then using that as the sort key.
  • Thanks! That doesn't seem to be working, but I think I may need to edit a few other things first. I'll keep trying - that definitely sounds like it *should* work! Thank you!
  • If you get stuck, free to paste your code to https://gist.github.com, and post the saved URL back here. Happy to take a look.
  • Thanks for your help! It seems that switching between "ascending" and "descending" changes the list by date, but not by number.

Here's my code, apologies in advance for the sloppiness - I think I implemented your suggestion properly - apologies if I made a mistake!

https://gist.github.com/dtwrub/1ea15dc9ea1fd8abd412917289ecab4c
  • Try moving the citation-number macro call to the last position in the bibliography sort block, and setting the other keys also to sort="descending".
  • edited April 13, 2018
    Actually you don't want descending on the other elements do you, sorry. Just moving the citation-number macro to last position should do it.
  • edited April 13, 2018